The European Commission has recommended to Schengen Member States and Schengen Associated States to lift internal border controls by 15 June 2020, while prolonging the temporary restriction on non-essential travel into the EU until 30 June 2020.

The Commission does not propose a general lifting of the travel restriction at this stage, but when it does, Member States will jointly choose which countries to admit, based on the health situation, the ability to apply containment measures during travel, and reciprocal arrangements, taking into account data from relevant sources such the WHO. It will remain a dynamic and coordinated process.

Read document: